Better to be Healthy than Skinny

So here’s the low down, I’ve been feeling very self conscious about my body lately. No I personally haven’t had a baby (two of us here have), I just love food (who doesn’t?) and I don’t like to exercise (who does?). I had an amazing metabolism until I graduated high school. It’s like the brakes on my metabolism went screaming to a halt after graduation. Of course, I had the mentality that I could still eat like I did in high school. It caught up to me, not fast either, I graduated in 2007 and it’s 2013. It took me 6 freakin’ years to realize that I wasn’t a twig anymore. One day I woke up and it hit me … where did this booty come from? How come I can’t fit into these jeans anymore? What is this when I sit down?? I’m sure I’m not the only one in this boat. Even those women who had children, unless you’re one of those lucky women who rubber banded back to (or better than) their pre-pregnancy bodies, we all have the pressure to look stunning in a bikini.

Where do I even start making changes?? I’m sick of feeling like this.

What’s worse is we’re surrounded by Victoria Secret ads and catalogs that get sent to our house every freakin’ day. Instead of flipping through the catalog with your carton of brownies, crying over how beautiful they look, I decided to do something about it!

Here are three simple changes that I am going to do (I am not an expert and I’m not a guru, this just comes from A LOT of research):

1. Eat Well. This is so crucial because abs are made in the kitchen and not at the gym. I know, a salad isn’t as satisfying as a juicy cheeseburger smothered in barbecue sauce. Here are a few links that I found very helpful with healthy, delicious and filling recipes to help you get a kick start.

http://www.eatingwell.com/ <- this site has the yummiest recipes and some great articles that will help you read more into eating well.

http://healthland.time.com/2012/10/01/make-over-your-diet-in-one-week-7-days-of-healthier-meals/ <- this site is good to refer to if you want to kick start your healthy eating plan.

Don’t think of it as a diet, think of it as a lifestyle change. Diets have an end date and you’ll just take two steps back. Don’t overindulge if you need to have that slice of cake, then have it but don’t make it the size of your plate. Portion size is very important. Don’t starve yourself and don’t deprive yourself. But be disciplined on portion size. I love food, I love eating lavishly and when I get a craving, I will kill to have it. This is the hardest step and that’s why I put it first.

veggie-heart_0

2. Daily exercise. Ew, it’s that word we all dread … exercise. Now I don’t mean go out and get a gym membership and “pick things up and put them down.” Ain’t nobody got time for that. I’m talking about little changes like 20 minute walks. (Here is a site that gets more into detail about how great walking is http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/walking/HQ01612.) This time of year is absolutely perfect for walks. The leaves are starting to change and it’s cooler. You get fresh air and sunlight (vitamin D!) Get out and enjoy a little nature.

If you have a little one or a pet, this is an even better reason to take a 20 minute walk with them. You get to spend time with your child or your pet that you wouldn’t otherwise hanging out at home. Plus, if you walk in a public area like a park or a trail, who doesn’t love getting compliments on how cute your kid or pet is. Other little changes you can make, take the stairs instead of the elevator. Park further away from the grocery store. Put the changing table upstairs or downstairs so you’re forced to get up. Take your kids to the park and get up and play with them! It’s fun for you and fun for them as well. Do physical things that you will enjoy, not dread because that’s when it stops becoming fun and starts becoming a chore.

walk in the park

3. Don’t forget to love yourself, no matter what. The most important thing to being healthy is self love. Be confident in your body, you are unique from everyone else. You are you and that’s what makes you special. (Feel like puking yet? haha!) Take some time to be alone and reflect on the things you have and what you are grateful for. We’re all in such crazy rushes these days that we don’t get a chance to take a moment to stop and smell the flowers. (Smell those flowers before it’s too late!) Take a moment to make a list of all the things you love about yourself, physically and emotionally. What are your best qualities? What are your favorite traits? I know it’s going to be hard at first and you’re going to feel silly but take a look at the list when you’re done, you’ll realize a lot of things about yourself that you didn’t before.

self love

Love, peace and happiness – *Minh

3 responses to “Better to be Healthy than Skinny

Leave a Reply

