Becca by Rebecca

Meet Rebecca Virtue, designer of Becca for Rebecca. Rebecca is originally from California and graduated from Otis College. She now resides in Orange Country, California where she started her swimwear line, Becca. “After graduating from Otis College of Art and Design, I was immediately drawn to designing swimwear. Could it be that I was raised in Southern California? Prior to designing for BECCA twelve years ago. I designed for Mossimo and OP, I’ve received such positive feedback from the BECCA by Rebecca Virtue line that i knew this brand needed to be offered in larger sizes; it seemed only natural to extend my styling into plus with BECCA ETC.” Rebecca has successfully plunged into plus size swimwear by changing swimsuits to better fit a woman’s body and using her colorful prints and patterns. This past March marked the launch of BECCA ETC, which is her new plus swimwear. The line includes one piece swimsuits, separates, and cover-ups.


“I feel like the modern-day plus consumer has been ignored for so long and her choices were slim. As you know, there are very limited choices in swimwear for plus. Unfortunately, it seems that most options are dark, drab colors with some very mature prints. What BECCA ETC has brought to the table is refreshing and up-to-date.”


Rebecca keeps true to her design ethics and her stylish patterns. BECCA ETC debuts with these attributes, crochet embellishments, and bold aquas and corals. One of Rebbeca’s main goals for BECCA ETC was to get the fit right while updating the look and making plus size swimwear more contemporary.”I was drawn to the plus sized fashion because I saw a void in the market that desperately needed to be filled. I wanted to provide a contemporary look for the plus size gal giving her more stylish choices in swimwear and cover-ups. …Let me say that designing for a larger size is not so different then designing for a straight size woman. I use most of the same fabrics in BECCA ETC as I do in the BECCA swimwear line, so that part of the equation was natural. I must admit however, that fitting this consumer has its challenges, there are so many more variables and body types to consider in this market.”


Rebecca worked with one of the top plus size models to debut her new swimwear line, Tara Lynn. Click to view the Becca bathing suit she’s wearing.  You might recognize the face as she’s graced the covers of European Vogues and Elle magazines. She is now the new face for H&M’s spring line.”Tara is among the most professional models I have worked with. She is always smiling and was a lot of fun. I love Tara!”


Rebecca is already working on the 2013 collection for BECCA ETC. “I am currently in the final stages of designing our 2013 collection and then it’s off to market! I look forward to the feedback I get in the coming year so I can make all the fuller figured women out there feel even more sexy and beautiful.” Stay tuned at Life’s a Beach, as we’ll keep you posted about each new Becca swimsuit as they come out!

One response to “Becca by Rebecca

Leave a Reply

