La Blanca

Rod Beattie is the modern designer behind La Blanca Swimwear. He started his career as a student at Otis College of Art and Design. Rod graduated in 1986. At the beginning of his career he worked in multiple sportswera houses in LA before switching to the swimwear market in 1988.


Rod has found his talent in designing contemporary pieces and quickly grew La Blanca Swimwear into a $30 million dollar company. Rod Beattie talks about his inspirations saying, “I’m not a big fan of retro and don’t enjoy recycling the past. I believe in experimenting with a new legline, a different strap, a modern color combination. When I am putting together a collection, I am thinking of a chic woman…of any age. She is independent and modern, with great fashion sense. She demands swimwear of the highest quality and best fit.” After several successful years at La Blanca Swimwear, Rod transfered to Anne Cole Swimwear. The company’s tailored swimsuits meshed well with Rod’s talent for contemporary well fitting swimsuits.


Beattie says, “The woman I design for loves travel and frequents spas and resorts. A wardrobe of [La Blanca] swimsuits and cover-ups is a must for her lifestyle – whether she is playing with her kids on the beach or attending a glamorous poolside cocktail party.”
In March 1999, Rod leaves Anne Cole Swimwear and returns to La Blanca Swimwear but this time as a lead designer and gets his name on the label (La Blanca Rod Beattie).


“All women have figure flaws whether they are real or imaginary. It’s all about camouflaging. With our [La Blanca Swim] suits, our customer range I would say is anywhere between 18-80. We have a broad customer range! My silhouettes appeal to all women because there is something for everyone.”


Today Rod not only designs for La Blanca but he also acts as a design mentor for fashion students. “Being an Otis design mentor is one of the best tools for keeping my design perspective new … the students constantly remind me of the importance of pushing forward into new territory.” Rod knows what he’s talking about, after being in the swimwear industry for over twenty years, he has earned the title as America’s #1 Swimsuit Designer. Rod spends his time off visiting Mexico or at his home in Pasadena, CA.

One response to “La Blanca

  1. My favourite tankini is a Rob Beattie, la blanca tankini style no. RN52419 (self). I have it in an aqua and a pink. The thing I like best about it is that it is flat across the stomach (not all the gathers of today). A size 8 top and bottom is a perfect fit for me. Can I still buy this style no. or is there something similar available – my 2 are worn out and I really
    would like to replace them with the same or as similar as possible.???

Leave a Reply

